top of page

Cheap and Cheerful January: Part Deux

Magical Mac & Cheese

I make this mac about once a month, when I’m either trying to save $$$ or I’m being ridiculously lazy (or a combination thereof). It’s built entirely un-ironically around boxed mac & cheese (I use Kraft Deluxe Sharp Cheddar, because I’m a bougie b), dressed up with some roast veggies, then topped off with more cheese, bread crumbs, and a drizzle of olive oil, and baked until it becomes ridiculous. I make minor adaptations according to the season—this time it was trading out lovely little Campari on-the-vine tomatoes (typically roasted with the other veg) for sun-dried tomatoes, just because “fresh” tomatoes are cardboard this time of year. I also usually do red onions, but this time used one medium yellow onion, simply because it’s what I had on hand.

Ingredients: boxed Mac & Cheese of your choice, one onion chopped, one head of broccoli chopped in bite-size bits, Campari/cherry/sun-dried tomatoes, extra virgin olive oil, bread crumbs

Directions: On a foil-lined sheet pan, roast onion, broccoli, and tomatoes (if using fresh) with olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders, and red pepper flakes. I roast at 400 for 25-30 minutes, because I like them real roasty.

Meanwhile, cook macaroni according to package directions.

When veggies are roasted to your liking and pasta is cooked, drain pasta, return to the same pot, and toss with roast veggies, then add cheese sauce. (If using sun-dried tomatoes as I did, add these with the veggies you roasted.)

Transfer the mix to a baking dish, top with cheese (I used shaved Asiago, and it was heaven), bread crumbs, and a drizzle of oil.

Bake for 15 minutes or so at same temp, then broil for a few minutes for a beautifully browned topping. Drink rosé throughout the cooking process and eat unapologetically.

bottom of page